吃飯了嗎?behind the scenes, researching my Glitch Western

jonCates
5 min readJun 22, 2024

吃飯了嗎?behind the scenes, researching my Glitch Western

extensive research is involved at everystep of how i create my Glitch Western

worldBuilding && emplotting charcters in my nonlinear storytelling requires me to weave the details of lived experiences slowly and intentionally

i am often also, in the background, researching from my perspective here in 台北,台灣 (Taipei, Taiwan) to tell these stories. we have very specific and special cultural traditions that are both maintained && updated from the past, thru present, innto futures

myFriend from home recently brought up a culinary technique called ‘velveting’ which led me to contextualize this from my own perspectives inn conversations wit Gemini, Alphabet’s AI

jonCates: seems as though people from the ‘Chinese’ diaspora during the 1800s developed these techniques of velveting with beef baking soda baking soda in the West, when they traveled to places such as California to soften the meat to match more local Western preferences and that this has just increased over time through the process of globalization

--

--

jonCates

School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Film, Video, New Media and Animation dept; Art History, Theory and Criticism dept.